Tag: 3.5/5 gavels

Oct 26
{Review} My Blood Runs Blue by Stacy Eaton

{Review} My Blood Runs Blue by Stacy Eaton

My Blood Runs Blue by Stacy Eaton Kindle Edition 208 pages Published April 5th 2011 by Outskirts Press, Inc. Age Group: Adult Source: blog tour Summary (from Goodreads) “I’m still a cop, and my blood runs blue.”Officer Kristin Greene has always felt that something was missing from her life. Although her job with the Fawn Hollow Township Police Department keeps her busy, she still feels like there is something else out there for her. She soon finds herself investigating a homicide where a young woman has had her throat ripped out. As she begins to dig for the answers, she finds herself thrown into a world she didn’t know ever existed. When the two strong and silent men walk into her life, she finds herself being pulled into a love triangle that has been going on longer than she has been alive. Who are they and why do they keep calling her Calista? Join Kristin as she fights to learn the truth about the recent murder, the two seductive men… Read more »

Divider

Oct 24
{Review} Last Call by Jennifer Schmidt (blog tour)

{Review} Last Call by Jennifer Schmidt (blog tour)

Last Call by Jennifer Schmidt Kindle Edition Published September 28th 2011 by The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House Age Group: Adult Source: Publisher Buy this Book: Amazon Summary (from Goodreads) Novalee Jensen thought what happened in Vegas would stay in Vegas, but two years later, her Vegas indiscretion shows up in her bar. Novalee’s fears come true as the sudden appearance of the stranger brings questions everyone wants answers to, and the secret she’s kept to herself for so long is exposed.Dean Philips is on a mission to find his wife and bring her back to Nevada, all without exposing his own secrets and lies. Lies that could not only cost him his fortune, but also the woman he’s yearned to know since that fateful night two years ago I am always looking for fun, interesting and unique contemporary books. For some reason, unique plotlines are a lot harder to come by in contemporary books. (at least the in the ones I have been reading- leave me suggestions if you think… Read more »

Divider

Sep 22
Review- Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Review- Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey Hardcover, 336 pages Published September 20th 2011 by HarperTeen Age Group: YA Source: NetGalley Buy this Book: Cold Kiss Summary (from Goodreads) When her boyfriend, Danny, is killed in a car accident, Wren can’t imagine living without him. Wild with grief, she uses the untamed powers she’s inherited to bring him back. But the Danny who returns is just a shell of the boy she once loved.Wren has spent four months keeping Danny hidden, while her life slowly unravels around her. Then Gabriel DeMarnes transfers to her school and somehow, inexplicably, he can sense her secret. Wren finds herself drawn to Gabriel, who is so much more alive than the ghost of the boy she loved. But Wren can’t turn her back on Danny or the choice she made for him—and she realizes she must find a way to make things right, even if it means breaking her own heart.Amy Garvey’s transcendent teen debut is perfect for fans of Shiver and Beautiful Creatures. Wren’s unforgettable voice and story… Read more »

Divider

Sep 20
Review- Up a Dry Creek by Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Review- Up a Dry Creek by Avery Flynn (Blog Tour)

Up a Dry creek by Avery Flynn ebook Published June 15th 2011 by Evernight Publishing Age Group: Adult (18+) Source: Blog Tour Summary (from Goodreads) Dry Creek has been home to the Layton family for generations, a heritage Claire Layton and her brothers Hank, Chris and Sam all appreciate. Claire is a successful, though somewhat debt-ridden, restaurateur who minds her own business—literally. She has enough on her plate between an irascible chef, an abandoned sous-chef, and the pressure of running her highly praised eatery, Harvest Bistro. But when she discovers one of her customers dead in her dumpster, her world begins to unravel. Even as her County Sheriff brother Hank and his team are still swarming the property looking for evidence, Claire receives a threatening call. It seems there’s a slight problem involving the dead young woman in the dumpster. She doesn’t have her phone and her flash drive with her. The killer makes it clear that Claire better find them by noon the next day or he’ll go after her… Read more »

Divider

Sep 01
Review- The Beast Call By Anne Tibbets

Review- The Beast Call By Anne Tibbets

The Beast Call (The Beast Girl Series) by Anne Tibbets Kindle Edition Published May 4th 2011 by PREMIER DIGITAL PUBLISHING LLC  Age Group: YA Source: Author Buy this Book: Amazon Summary (from Goodreads) Seventeen year old Dray is no ordinary human. But possessing a magical capability to talk to animals in a land where magic is feared, is dangerous. When Dray’s adventure hungry brother leaves the family farm to join a rebel militia, Dray follows him, but as Dray discovers her natural warrior capabilities, and word of her magical talents are discovered by the rebel General, Dray becomes an intricate part of the revolution, and the evil King Nuro would like nothing more than to see her destroyed I didn’t really know what to think when I first started this book. It didn’t look like it was going to be my cup of tea and then then main character, Dray runs away and the book completely transforms. I really started to enjoy it. It is a really quick read and… Read more »

Divider

Aug 30
Review- Gypsy Knights by Two Brother Metz

Review- Gypsy Knights by Two Brother Metz

Gypsy Knights by Two Brothers Metz Kindle Edition Published May 19th 2011 by LoudCloud Publishing  Age Group: YA/Middle Grade crossover Source: Publisher Buy this Book: Amazon Summary (from Goodreads) Fourteen-year-old Durriken Brishen has lost his parents, his grandfather, and though he doesn’t know it, his Gypsy culture’s dangerous gift. Taken in and raised on the rails by the first woman to pilot a freight train, Durriken has one remaining connection to his Romani roots: a small wooden box that hangs from the hammer loop of his overalls. The last gift he received from his grandfather, the box contains the world’s first chess set. But a piece is missing: the Red Queen. According to Durriken’s family lore, the complete set awakens the power of Tărie, a mercurial gift that confers unique abilities on each new Master. When a suspicious fire erupts in the Chicago rail yard, Durriken’s escape produces an uneasy alliance, though not without its silver lining. Dilia is a few inches taller, several degrees cleverer, and oh yes –… Read more »

Divider

Aug 20
Review- Progeny by R. T. Kaelin

Review- Progeny by R. T. Kaelin

Progeny: The Children of the White Lions by R. T. Kaelin ebook, 672 pages Published February 14th 2011 by Terrene Press  Age Group: YA Source: Author Buy this Book: Amazon Summary (from Goodreads) Nikalys and his sister Kenders grew up living a peaceful life in the quiet farming village of Yellow Mud until the blistering hot day when they go to the nearby lake for a swim. When they reach the lake, they spy an unknown mage conjure a massive water creature hundreds of feet tall. They watch in horror as the water creature plunges toward their home, apparently drowning all in its path, including their parents and older brother, Jak. As the only survivors, brother and sister strike out on their own, hoping to discover the reason their home and family was destroyed. They must make their way through a countryside where magic is outlawed, punishable by imprisonment or even death while struggling with the revelation that Kenders has magical abilities herself. Although Kenders can feel and touch the… Read more »

Divider

Aug 17
Review- Switched by Amanda Hocking

Review- Switched by Amanda Hocking

Switched (A Trylle Novel #1) by Amanda Hocking Paperback, 304 pages Published July 12th 2010 by CreateSpace Age Group: YA Source: bought Buy this Book: Amazon Summary (from Goodreads) When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy finds out her mother might’ve been telling the truth. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – and it’s one she’s not sure if she wants to be a part of. —————————————————————————– My Review: I really liked this book. When I first found out it was about trolls, I was so skeptical. But it turned out really good. I can’t say im too fond of the Queen, but that is not surprising, since she is such a cold character. I do like Wendy- she is so feisty and strong willed. I love that she does not let anyone push her around. Unfortunately, I also really like… Read more »

Divider