Genre: Young Adult

Divider

Feb 12
{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

{Review} Love Between Enemies by @MollyELee @EntangledTeen

Love Between Enemies is the second book in the Grad Night series by Molly E. Lee. The Grad night series is a set of interconnected standalones that follow a group of friends on the night of their high school graduation. I really love the idea behind this series because all three of the books basically happen over the same weekend, so we get to see lots of character overlap and scene overlap from different perspectives in the different books. But each of the books does read as a standalone, so you don’t have to read the series in order. Each one will follow a different couple. The Grad Night series falls squarely in the young adult age group, and I think it is great for readers of all young adult and adult ages. I loved Love Between Enemies. It was super cute and a ton of fun. Love Between Enemies follows our two main characters, Zoey and Gordon. Zoey and Gordon are number one and two in their senior class… Read more »

Divider

Feb 09
{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

{Review+Giveaway} The Dating Debate by Chris Cannon @entangledteen @ccannonauthor

The Dating Debate is the first book in the Dating Dilemmas series by Chris Cannon. The Dating Debate is a young adult contemporary romance. I have read Chris Cannon’s other young adult series, the Going Down in Flames series, which is a young adult paranormal romance. I really love that series, so I was excited to read something completely different from this author. The Dating Debate was a super quick read that was light, fluffy and a lot of fun. The Dating Debate is perfect for when you are looking for a quick fun book that you can easily finish in one afternoon. The Dating Debate follows our spunky main character, Nina. Nina is an unapologetic bookworm, which I totally loved about her. She cracked me up when she found out that her next door neighbor, West was “fluent in Harry Potter”, which was so obviously a major plus in all bookworms books. Nina cracks me up. She is spunky and adorable and she really loved debating, over everything. Which,… Read more »

Divider

Feb 08
{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{ARC Review+Giveaway} The Beauty That Remains by Ashley Woodfolk @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

The Beauty That Remains is the debut young adult novel by Ashley Woodfolk. The Beauty That Remains is powerful book featuring wonderfully diverse characters. It is a realistic fiction piece about how people deal with loss differently, and also about how this new era of social media can shape the grieving process. I really enjoyed this novel. I found it to be so multi faceted, and so interestingly put together. I think this is a great book to recommend to reads of realistic contemporary fiction. Ashley Woodfolk is a wonderful new voice in young adult literature. The Beauty That Remains is told in three different point of views, following our three main characters- Autumn, Shay, and Logan. Each of our main characters has lost someone close to them. Autumn lost her best friend, Shay lost her twin sister and Logan lost his ex-boyfriend. There were a few things that I really loved about this novel. First, I loved the diversity in the cast of characters, and I loved how each of their journeys… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

{Review+Giveaway} Nocturne by Kat Ross @katrossauthor

Nocturne is the first book in the fourth talisman series by Kat Ross. I really love Kat Ross’ books. There should be a big ole disclaimer on this review though. Although Nocturne is the first book in a series, it is really a follow up series to Kat Ross’ Fourth Element trilogy. Though you might be able to read this series without having read The Fourth Element trilogy, I am not sure that I would recommend it. There are some spoilers for events that happen in the previous series. I think these books are best read in order. Plus, The fourth Element series is a really awesome fantasy series that is perfect for fans of The City of Brass. And even better, the whole trilogy happens to be on sale right now for only 99 cents!  Nocturne follows Nazafareen after the events of Queen of Chaos leaves off. I can’t really get into much about those events without spoiling the previous trilogy, so let’s keep it vague. Nazafareen is now in the foreign… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

{Review+Giveaway} S.T.A.G.S. by @MABennettAuthor @DelacortePress @GetUnderlined

S.T.A.G.S. is a young adult mystery thriller by author M.A. Bennett. In case you didn’t know, S.T.A.G.S. stands for St. Aidan the Great School, is a book that is touted to be awesome for fans of The Secret History and Pretty Little Liars. I am a big fan of both of those books, so that coupled with the boarding school setting, I was pretty pumped for S.T.A.G.S. And S.T.A.G.S. delivered on what it promised, a twisty thriller. And though S.T.A.G.S. is set at a boarding school, a bulk of the novel took place at a country manor where this “hunting” weekend is set to take place. I loved the premise of S.T.A.G.S. I think that was my favorite aspect of the story.  And the writing and storyline were both excellent. They kept my attention the entire time and I loved the eerie feeling of the story. But the characters didn’t always live up to the plot in my opinion. I liked Greer well enough, but I didn’t completely love her. And I not entirely sure why…. Read more »

Divider

Feb 02
{Review+Giveaway} Winner Take All by @Laurie_Devore @ImprintReads @FierceReads

{Review+Giveaway} Winner Take All by @Laurie_Devore @ImprintReads @FierceReads

Winner Take All is a young adult contemporary by Laurie Devore. It was a really interesting read for me. There were parts of it that I liked and parts of the story that I didn’t love as much, but I will say one thing about this novel, it really made me think. Even the characters that I didn’t love, made me think. And for that, I enjoyed Winner Take All. It was different than I expected, but not necessarily in a bad way. Winner Take All was a very entertaining read that made me think a lot about double standards that exist in our society today. Winner Take All is the story an extremely competitive main character. Nell wants to be the best at everything. Nell is a very polarizing character. I can see readers either really liking her or really disliking her. Personally, I liked Nell. I liked that she is who she is. No, she is not perfect. Yes, she can be brash and abrasive at times, but… Read more »

Divider

Feb 01
{Guest Post+Giveaway} War World by Rod C. Spence

{Guest Post+Giveaway} War World by Rod C. Spence

Today I am really excited to have Rod C. Spence, the author of War World (which comes out on Feb 5th) He is here to share 10 things we didn’t know about him, and he has an awesome giveaway down below so be sure to enter that!  10 things you didn’t know about author Rod C. Spence I had four wisdom teeth removed when I was high school junior and I looked like a green chipmunk with lockjaw. I spent two weeks recovering and it was during this period I read The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings – what I else was I going to do? It gave me a love for fantasy. I just recently devoured Ready Player One for the second time on audiobook. Most of the plotting of the novel was like a journey down memory lane for me! Zork, Planetfall and other text-based games were all we had back in the 80’s and players like me dreamed of the future and the lifelike games that… Read more »

Divider

Jan 31
{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

{Review+Giveaway} Batman: Nightwalker by @Marie_Lu @RandomHouse

Batman is the second book in the DC Icons series. Each of the books in the DC Icons series is written by a different author, and it features the origin story of some of the biggest superheroes (and villains) in the DC universe. I am such a huge fan of all things DC and Marvel and I love origin stories, so this series was made for me. I still need to read the first book, Wonder Woman. Now that I have read and enjoyed Batman so much, I know that Wonder Woman will be coming up on my TBR pile shortly. Batman was everything I wanted it to be. It was fun and it was really cool to see a younger, and super nice Bruce Wayne. I have a bit of a confession to make. Batman is my first Marie Lu book. Yes, I know! Please don’t throw tomatoes or rocks. I have a bunch of her books, but I haven’t read any of them. But fear not! That will… Read more »

Divider

Jan 30
{2018 Fantasies+Giveaway} Featuring The #CruelPrince by @HollyBlack @TheNovl

{2018 Fantasies+Giveaway} Featuring The #CruelPrince by @HollyBlack @TheNovl

2018 is the year of epic YA fantasies! I have been so into fantasy. IN 2017 it was my favorite genre by far, and I am still really in the mood for all things fantasy. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black is one of my most anticipated fantasy releases of the year, and I cannot wait to read it! NOVL sent me a copy to check out, and is partnering with me for a giveaway! Today I am going to share with you my MOST ANTICIPATED FANTASIES OF 2018, starting with The Cruel Prince! And then be sure to enter the awesome giveaway down below. (Big thanks to the Novl for sponsoring this giveaway!) Most Anticipated YA Fantasy Books of 2018   Here are some other 2018 releases I am really anticipating Click on the covers for more information               Here are some 2018 releases I have already read (and really enjoyed)       Let me know what fantasy books you are most looking forward to this year!! Visit theNOVL.com Follow Holly Black… Read more »

Divider

Jan 22
{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

{ARC Review} Ink, Iron, and Glass by Gwendolyn Clare @gwendoclare @FierceReads @ImprintReads

Ink, Iron, and Glass is the first book in a new duology by the same name from debut novelist Gwendolyn Clare. Ink, Iron, and Glass is a steampunk fantasy duology about a world where a type of science called scriptology exists. Scriptology is a science magic hybrid where the “scientist” can actually create a new world by scripting or writing it into existence. This concept gripped me right from the start. How awesome and complex it would be. And I was immediately intrigued to see how Gwendolyn Clare would handle such a big idea. And I have to say, she handled it really well. I loved that she didn’t water the idea of writing a world into existence. She embraced how complicated and complex it would be. You have to make it livable world. If you create a world that does not support air, then everyone in that world would die. Same with gravity, warmth, food. Creating a world was not just about writing flowery descriptions of the rolling hills and… Read more »

Divider