Genre: Fiction

Divider

Apr 22
{ARC Review+Interview+Giveaway} Paradise City by @CJ_Duggan @HachetteAus

{ARC Review+Interview+Giveaway} Paradise City by @CJ_Duggan @HachetteAus

Describe Paradise City in a tweet (140 characters or less). Paradise City is quintessentially Australian, heavily focused on family, friendships, love and pushing the limits. A sexy, sassy and witty character novel with plenty of twists and turns. What are some traits that you look for in your book boyfriends? There has to be an element of intrigue; discovering who they are is half the fun. Always love a character who can banter with a leading lady, and have amazing tension. Someone who is a strong, loyal male without being an Alpha jerk, because you know what? Sometimes the nice guy does get the girl. What are some of your favourite trends in YA right now? Dystopian, Paranormal, Contemp, Coming of Age: it all depends on my mood but I love them all and like to think that there is always something available for no matter what mood I am in, as long as there is a hint of romance. I adore a variety of YA. Which of your characters… Read more »

Divider

Apr 14
{Review+Giveaway} The Summer I Fell by @SonyaLoveday

{Review+Giveaway} The Summer I Fell by @SonyaLoveday

The Summer I Fell is the first book in a contemporary New Adult series called, The Six. I felt like it should have been called the Seven, since all of the guys admitted that Riley was one of them and always has been. The Six are a group of six guys, Jared, Ace, Mark, Josh, Aiden & Eli , that are always together. They grew up together and they are a great group of friends.  I really liked watching them interact, and I loved the way that they were with Riley. The Summer I fell is both a beautiful story and a heartbreaking story. The first half felt so carefree and fun, and I was smiling the whole time. You get to watch Riley discover her first love and hang out with a great group of friends. It is really great. And then life starts to get in the way. They have all graduated high school and some are going in different directions. The second half of the book had… Read more »

Divider

Apr 13
{ARC Review} Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin @zeitlingeist @PutnamBooks

{ARC Review} Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin @zeitlingeist @PutnamBooks

Sophomore Year is Greek to Me is a standalone contemporary romance that will have you smiling and laughing non-stop. It is a followup book to Meredith Zeitlin’s Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters, but it is about an entirely different group of characters so I truly mean this when I say, you can read this book without having read the first book. They are not related other than the school is the same (I think). Sophomore Year is Greek to Me is such a fun read. I don’t really have any criticisms of it so I am instead going to tell you a couple of things that I loved about the book. 1. I loved that Zona, a journalist-to-be,  and her father, a Pulitzer prize winning writer, would communicate via post it notes in the form of newspaper headlines. They cracked me up! Even the totally snarky ones. I mean Zona is a 15 year old that was not too happy to be leaving her friends and school and whole… Read more »

Divider

Apr 10
{Review+Giveaway} Into a Million Pieces by @AngelaVCook @RAPublishing

{Review+Giveaway} Into a Million Pieces by @AngelaVCook @RAPublishing

Into a Million Pieces is a young adult paranormal romance by Angela V. Cook. This is her debut novel. And it is about succubi! I was super excited because I think they are fascinating creatures, and I kind of love them ever since I found the show, Lost Girl, I have wanted to find some good books about the succubus. I found one Urban Fantasy story that I really liked, but I haven’t found many others. (Please let me know if you have any recommendations for me!) Into a Million Pieces was an interesting take on a succubus, and is a quick and enjoyable read. Allison and her twin sister, Jade are both succubi. But they couldn’t be more different. Jade embraces what she is and she loves kissing boys. Allison dresses to hide herself and goes out of her way to stay away from every single male. Their mother went on a succubus bender and ended up killing herself when they were both very little. They live with their… Read more »

Divider

Apr 08
{Review+Giveaway} Captive by Brighton Walsh @WriteAsRain_ @StMartinsPress

{Review+Giveaway} Captive by Brighton Walsh @WriteAsRain_ @StMartinsPress

I absolutely loved Caged in Winter by Brighton Walsh, so when I saw Captive was also by her I knew I had to read it ASAP. I have only read one other book about a girl falling for her captor, and it is a tricky subject for me. It is not something I could initially see myself doing in her situation, so in the past I have been wary of that idea, but I liked the first book I read with this theme. And I have to say Captive was great! I really, really liked it. Brighton Walsh write great characters that lend themselves to excellent romances. Within the first two pages of meeting Madison, I caught myself nodding my head along with her and thought to myself, “yep, been there done that.” (note: I am not talking about the mother incident. I am talking about the getting dressed incident.) And just like that, I could identify with Madison. I know that may seem small, but it is the little… Read more »

Divider

Apr 03
{Review} Between Now and Never by Laura Johnston @lauralojohnston @lyricalpress

{Review} Between Now and Never by Laura Johnston @lauralojohnston @lyricalpress

Between Now and Never is a standalone contemporary/realistic fiction romance story. I loved Laura Johnston’s first novel, Rewind to You and I really loved it. It was a super sweet and light romance. I am going to tell you up front that Between Now and Never has a very different feel to it than Rewind to You did. It is not as sugary sweet, certainly not as light. I didn’t love it as much as Rewind to You, but it was still a good story. (What can I say, I am just more of a happy and fluffy kind of gal.) Between Now and Never had kind of a forbidden romance, Montague and Capulet feuding family feel to it. Julianna and Cody come from very different families and you can tell that it has impacted the way they grow up. Julianna’s family is poor and her brother uses/deals drugs and because of that has money problems. To try and help, their mom committed a crime at her job and got… Read more »

Divider

Mar 09
{Review+Giveaway} Kate’s Escape from the Billable Hour by Petula Parker #TakeControlTBR

{Review+Giveaway} Kate’s Escape from the Billable Hour by Petula Parker #TakeControlTBR

Kate’s Escape from the Billable Hour is 4.5 non-billable hours of pure hilarity. I don’t even know where to begin with my review. Having been a law clerk at a “big law” firm while in law school, and watching some of my classmates go through the grind, I found this book to be extra humorous. I could not stop laughing. I’m at a smaller boutique law firm now, and I am happy to say it is NOTHING like Krapp & Lipschitz, LLP, but I still know a thing or two about billable hours. While I do believe that this book will hold an extra snicker or two for people in the legal profession, I think anyone will get a kick out Kate’s Escape. She is zany and kooky and her “sanity break” as her firm will call it, is such a fun journey. Where can I sign up for mine? Kate is an ideal associate. She has virtually no life outside of the law firm, she bills hundreds of extra… Read more »

Divider

Feb 10
{ARC Review} Love Lattes and Mutants by @Sandra_Cox @KensingtonBooks

{ARC Review} Love Lattes and Mutants by @Sandra_Cox @KensingtonBooks

Love Latte and Mutants is the first book in the young adult science fiction Mutant Series. Piper’s mother was experimented on before she was born and injected with Dolphin DNA. After some time (we don’t really know too much of her mother’s backstory yet) she escaped and had Piper. Piper is interesting because while she is completely human she had dolphin characteristics, like a blowhole which allows her to stay under water for 30 minutes. Piper does a good job keeping a low profile until a boy comes along and screws it all up. Just kidding…kind of. But Tyler did force her into the spotlight a lot more. What I liked most about Piper was that she seemed to take on some siren-like qualities as well. Her voice was enchanting to males, so she had to hide that about her as well. Love Lattes and Mutants is a quick little read that I think sets up the series very nicely. I liked the book, but I feel like I have… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review} Calling California by J.P. Grider

{Review} Calling California by J.P. Grider

Calling California is the first book in the New Adult Series, the Hunter Hill University Series. I got a copy of the second book, Mending Michael for review, but even though each of the books can be read as a standalone, I decided to read the first book before Mending Michael. Calling California is kind of a typical New Adult contemporary romance, told in dual narrative between the guy and the girl, which I love. I think I liked Griffin more than our heroine, Cali in Calling California. Griffin is just such a sweetie pie. And so is Cali. She really is such a sweet, sweet girl, but she bugged the crap out of me a lot of the time. She is just so hung up on money and is beyond super bitter about her financial situation. I understand her being a little upset or realistic about her experiences, but it seemed like every other word out of her mouth was about being poor and disliking rich people, yada yada… Read more »

Divider

Jan 30
{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooks

{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooks

Author’s Note: This book is a “sweet” romance that isn’t overly sexy. Fans of LOST & FOUND will be interested in THREE BROTHERS. Three Brothers is the first Nicole Williams book that I have had the pleasure of reading, and I think I need a day or two to recover from it. Holy cow, this book touched me deep down to my core, it was so emotional. I need to scour my kindle and see if I have any of her other books, because I don’t know why it has taken me this long to discover hew haunting and powerful writing style. I know it says it right in the summary, but this book is much more on the sweet romance side of new adult, and because of the other books in genre, it will seem much more tame and even a little slower paced than other New Adult books. But trust me, that works with the story perfectly. The story follows Scout, who left home to attend Vet school,… Read more »

Divider