Posts By: Michelle @ Book Briefs

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

{Review+Giveaway} Triplicity by J. Mercer

Triplicity is a young adult mystery by J. Mercer, that takes place on a cruise ship. I was completely intrigued by this idea. I love the idea of a story taking place on a cruise ship, and I hardly ever read young adult mysteries. Most mysteries I read are adult, so I knew this was going to be a cool book. And it was! Triplicity is something than I am used to reading, but it was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed this novel. The blurb of Triplicity says this book is perfect for readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han, and I think that is a good description. Triplicity certainly had that adorable light hearted feel, but maybe not quite as lighthearted as Kasie and Jenny because of the added mystery element. Triplicity is told in multiple points of view, with the chapters switching off between the various main characters. I loved that all of the main characters met for the first time on their cruise vacation, no… Read more »

Divider

Feb 07
{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow  by Jennifer Silverwood

{Review+Giveaway} Silver Hollow by Jennifer Silverwood

Silver Hollow is the first book in the Borderlands saga by Jennifer Silverwood. The borderlands saga is a young adult fantasy romance that blended arthurian legend with fae legend. I have never seen this type blending before but I have to say I was loving it! I cannot wait for the next book in the saga because this was unlike anything I have read before. I am a huge fan of fae stories, and I have always been a fan of the legend of king Arthur. I’m not going to tell you exactly how the two things intertwine in the story (because…spoilers!) but I will say it is pretty cool. In Silver Hollow, we meet Amie. One of my not so favorite tropes was used to kick start this book (parents tragically dying) but it did serve it’s purpose in propelling Amie on a surprise adventure. She is whisked off and finds herself in a town that feels like another world. Amie gets to know a long lost relative of… Read more »

Divider

Feb 06
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Shadow’s Voice by Natalie Johanson

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Shadow’s Voice by Natalie Johanson

Shadow’s Voice Natalie Johanson Publication date: January 2nd 2019 Genres: Adult, Fantasy Rose Trewin is on the run. Pursued by memories of her father, she runs from city to city, seeking normalcy. But Rose can’t escape her past, or the magic running through her veins, the magic that allows her to slip through the shadows unnoticed. The magic her father once used to mold her into a mercenary sent to destroy his enemies. Now her magic is growing and changing, becoming something new and untamable. Rose is unable to rest. Wolves wrapped in fog follow her relentlessly along the countryside. Desperate, she uses her magic to escape, but the shadows are pushing her towards the center of a conspiracy. Now, her country teeters on the brink of a civil war as a Lord Governor gathers power against the king. An enemy, with magic similar to her own, emerges in the chaos of political intrigue. Faced with a country at war and a king brought to his knees, Rose must accept… Read more »

Divider

Feb 05
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Ink by Jobie Baldwin

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Ink by Jobie Baldwin

Today I have an excerpt and giveaway for Ink by Jobie Baldwin! Ink is the first book in the young adult Tribe series.   Ink Jobie Baldwin (Tribe, #1) Publication date: October 6th 2018 Genres: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult A powerful god, a magical tattoo and a rebellious teenager. What could possibly go wrong? Christian, an unruly English teenager, stumbles onto a mysterious tattoo parlor. Possessed by the Rune God, Hagalaz, he becomes immortal, gifted with magical powers which allow him to harness the forces of nature. Only problem? Hagalaz God of Disruption, is intent on making Christian’s life a living hell. Oh, and did I mention the Settlers, a mysterious group with a dark and devastating secret? It is up to Christian and his new Tribe of four, each gifted with their own celestial passenger, to uncover that secret. But nothing is what it seems, and it will take much more than the powers of a few long-forgotten gods to stop the impending global disaster that threatens to destroy… Read more »

Divider

Jan 30
{Excerpt+Giveaway} STOLEN by Marlena Frank

{Excerpt+Giveaway} STOLEN by Marlena Frank

Title: STOLEN (Stolen #1) Author: Marlena Frank Pub. Date: January 22, 2019 Publisher: The Parliament House Formats: Paperback, eBook Pages: 342 Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, B&N, iBooks, Kobo It’s difficult taking care of a delusional father by yourself. Sixteen-year-old Shaleigh Mallet would rather explore and photograph dilapidated buildings than cater to her father’s dark episodes. But when she’s kidnapped by a creature who carries her atop a flying bicycle into another world, she realizes this wasn’t the escape she wanted. In a kingdom known as the Garden, where minotaurs pull carriages and parties are held in hot air balloons, Madam Cloom and her faerie servant, Teagan, rule over the land with incredible but terrifying magic. Shaleigh must prove that she is the reincarnation of a long-dead ruler, not because she believes it, but because it’s her only chance to survive. With the help of a trespassing faerie, a stoatling, and a living statue, Shaleigh hopes to outwit everyone. She aims to break the bonds of servitude and finally make her way home. What she doesn’t realize, however, is that she’s playing right… Read more »

Divider

Jan 29
{Guest Post+Giveaway} EVO by Diane May

{Guest Post+Giveaway} EVO by Diane May

EVO Diane May Publication date: July 23rd 2018 Genres: Adult, Thriller A covert CIA operation that involves genetic engineering. A serial killer nicknamed “The Hypnotist”. And the most terrifying threat humanity has to face. What if someone could take complete control over your mind? And what if that someone was a serial killer? Discover EVO, a gripping crime thriller that reviewers and readers describe as “spellbinding”, “high-energy” and “impossible to put down”. Langley, Virginia, twenty years earlier: John Blake, a CIA special agent, stumbles upon an illegal genetic experiment within the agency, conducted on unborn babies and officially presented as a fertility program designed to help couples get pregnant. When he realizes that his very own daughter is a product of this sinister plot and that she is in grave danger, he vows to do everything it takes to make sure Maya will be safe and the people behind the experiment will all pay. With their lives. Verona, Italy, present time: Livio Marchiori, a homicide detective with the highest rate… Read more »

Divider

Jan 28
{Recipes+Giveaway} #ArtemisFowl Series by Eoin Colfer

{Recipes+Giveaway} #ArtemisFowl Series by Eoin Colfer

  Today I am partnering with Disney Books for some awesome Artemis Fowl fun to celebrate the re-release of the series with the new book covers! The complete series in re-designed packaging is now available in stores! So check out the covers below, and on my Instagram.   Each book includes a sneak peek of The Fowl Twins, a brand-new spinoff novel following the adventures of Artemis Fowl’s twin brothers.     And if you want even more Artemis Fowl fun, I have good news for you- because this series is soon to be a major motion picture from The Walt Disney Studios! If you are a fan of the series like I am, then you will know all about Spud’s Spud Emporium. Here is a refresher, in case you are new to the series. Spud’s Spud Emporium is a fast-food restaurant in Haven, the Lower Elements. It is somewhat popular, though it doesn’t have good food. The milkshakes are lumpy and the meat is not to be trusted. The burgers are usually rubbery and the fries greasy. Source:… Read more »

Divider

Jan 25
{Mini Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Kill Code by Luna Kayne

{Mini Review+Excerpt+Giveaway} Kill Code by Luna Kayne

  Kill Code is a romantic suspense novel by author Luna Kayne. It is the first book in a trilogy. I enjoyed Kill Code. I thought some parts of the beginning were a bit slow, but overall this book was a good foundation for what is going to be an eventful trilogy. And Kill Code definitely was a novel that built as it went on. The ending was more than I expected. It certainly set us up for an interesting second novel. Kill Code follows a special forces team in search of a group of hackers. I love anything involving hackers, so I was excited to learn more about what was going on. I liked the characters, and the romance was certainly pretty steamy in parts. I liked the balance of the romantic elements with the obvious suspenseful atmosphere throughout the story. I really liked that this was a reunion of sorts for our main characters. It was cool that Jessa and jack knew each other from several years back. They… Read more »

Divider

Jan 25
{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

{Review+Giveaway} The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh

The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a young adult contemporary novel by Olivia Hinebaugh. There were a few things I didn’t love about this novel, but overall I thought it was still a good read. The good certainly outweighed my few gripes. So let’s start with the good. The Birds, The Bees, and You and Me is a novel that is both very educational and was a cute coming of age story. I really enjoyed our main character, Lacey( most of the time). And I loved her friendship with Theo and Evita. Her friend group was my favorite part of the story. Lacey was happy enjoying her senior year in high school, playing and listening to as much music as possible with her best friends, but when her school decides to take an abstinence only approach to sex education, Lacey decides to counter this sex health education. She falls into the position as a virgin sex health expert, and the book takes o And now for the few things… Read more »

Divider