Posts By: Michelle @ Book Briefs

May 07
{ARC Review} The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang @HHoangWrites @BerkleyRomance

{ARC Review} The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang @HHoangWrites @BerkleyRomance

  The Kiss Quotient  is the first book in a new series by the same name by author Helen Hoang. The Kiss Quotient is a romantic comedy about two characters that will make you fall head over heels in love with them. The Kiss Quotient was like a breath of fresh air for me. I absolutely adored getting to know Stella and Michael, and I am beyond happy that this is going to be a series. Helen Hoang is an author that I need to keep my eye on, because this book was easily one of my favorite reads of 2018 in the contemporary romance category. It was just so cute and romantic! Stella is a numbers gal. She is super analytical, and she also happens to be on the spectrum, so when she has a problem in the love department, she turns to the one thing she feels comfortable with…math and numbers. She thinks she can quantify love and come up with a formula for a winning relationship. I loved Stella… Read more »

Divider

May 03
{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

{Review+Giveaway} Fangs & Fins by Amy McNulty @McNultyAmy

FANGS & FINS is a young adult paranormal romance by Amy McNulty. It is also the first book in the Blood, Bloom, & Water series. This is the first book I have read from author Amy McNulty, but I will be on the lookout for more from her now, because Fangs & Fins was a strong start to what looks to be an interesting series. Fangs & Fins is the perfect book to feature on my blog today because today is national paranormal day! So it is only fitting that I feature a paranormal book. I loved how much was going on in Fangs & Fins. There are some classic young adult elements thrown in, like step siblings and family secrets, plus lots of great characters and a fast paced always moving plot to keep your interest. Fangs & Fins was a great start to a series that I am interested in continuing on. We start out our journey meeting Ember, who has always wanted a sister. Her wish is… Read more »

Divider

May 01
Top Ten Tuesday (1)

Top Ten Tuesday (1)

Happy Tuesday! Today I’ve decided to start participating in Top Ten Tuesday, formerly hosted by Jamie at The Broke and the Bookish, now hosted by Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. For upcoming topics, and more information on Top Ten Tuesday, visit Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. Today’s topic is: Books I’d Slay a Lion to Get Early Here are the top 10 Young Adult books I’d slay a lion to get early! (book covers link to goodreads)               What books would you slay a lion to get your hands on early? Let me know in the comments!

Divider

Apr 25
{Free Book Alert!} Unlikely Venture By Kristen Luciani

{Free Book Alert!} Unlikely Venture By Kristen Luciani

Title: Unlikely Venture Author: Kristen Luciani Genre: Romantic Suspense Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR Blurb: Plans. They always have such a funny way of not working out. Jessica Latham thought she was sailing down the aisle toward happily ever after until a devastating diagnosis sent her fiancé fleeing like a fugitive. Bad judgement and too much wine hurled her into the arms of a sexy stranger as a distraction from her crushing reality. No strings, no last names, just pure unbridled passion. It was only one night, nothing that could ever come back to haunt her. Or so she thought. But when a vindictive frenemy reveals Jessica’s secret, her past mistake puts everything at risk, including her heart. Kristen Luciani is a USA Today bestselling author and momtrepreneur with a penchant for stilettos, Silicon Valley, plunging necklines and grapefruit martinis. As a deep-rooted romantic who prefers juicy drama to fill the lives of anyone other than her, she tried her hand at creating a world of enchantment, sensuality, and intrigue,… Read more »

Divider

Apr 23
{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

{ARC Review+Wedding Style Board} Royals by Rachel Hawkins

Royals is the first book in a young adult series by the same name from author Rachel Hawkins. I loved this super fun read for many reasons. First, I am all about all things wedding at the moment with the Royal wedding happening this summer and me planning my own wedding. This was right up my alley and second, because of the characters. I cannot tell you how much I love that the main character of this story is the sister of character engaged to the prince. This was a great idea on Rachel Hawkins part. It sets Royals apart from all of the other, I fell in love with a prince books. Daisy’s sister, Ellie is engaged to Prince Alex. But the real star of the story is Daisy. I loved Daisy. She is a bit of a hot mess at times, but she is always feisty and spunky and has no problem speaking first and dealing with the consequences later. I was hoping that Royals would have a… Read more »

Divider

Apr 19
{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

{Bookish News} Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover

Margaret Peterson Haddix Twitter Takeover Who: Fans of YA and Margaret Peterson Haddix! What: Twitter Takeover. Bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix will be discussing some of her “firsts” and answering reader questions about her books! When: April 23rd, 7 – 9pm ET Where: @YoungEntmag How: Head over to @YoungEntmag on April 23rd, follow along, and tweet your questions to Margaret!   Why: The Summer of Broken Things, Margaret’s triumphant return to YA, hit shelves 4/10/2018! Alternating between Avery’s and Kayla’s distinct voices, The Summer of Broken Things gives readers a realistic look at a wide range of human experiences: from a loving, working class family to a wealthy, dysfunctional one – yet, all may not be what it appears. Haddix’s raw and honest approach to themes of love, betrayal, reconciliation, and personal growth will resonate with young readers, as well as anyone who has ever been hurt by the people they trust the most. This story is about family in its many forms – and how it may be found in the most unexpected places.   About the… Read more »

Divider

Apr 18
{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

{Guest Post+Giveaway} The Summer of Broken Things by Margaret Peterson Haddix

Welcome to Day #3 of The Summer of Broken Things Blog Tour! To celebrate the release of The Summer of Broken Things on April 10th, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive content from Margaret Peterson Haddix and 10 chances to win a copy of the book! Travel My husband jokes that in my family, if anyone says, “Do you want to go to…,” we all say, “Sure!” before we even know the destination. My parents definitely succeeded in passing on a love of travel to my siblings and me, and we’ve all handed down that travel lust to our own children as well. For me, a huge part of it came from the books I read. I’m pretty sure that the earliest places books made me want to visit were ones that didn’t actually exist: Narnia, for example. (I also really, really wanted to be able to tesser.) But a lot of the books I read as a kid also implanted a deep desire to see certain real places for myself…. Read more »

Divider