{WoW+Excerpt} A Lair of Bones by Helen Scheuerer @HelenScheuerer

April 14, 2021 excerpt 1

waiting on wednesday

This week I am waiting on….

Curse of the Cyren Queen #1

A Lair of Bones

Helen Scheuerer

YA Dark Fantasy

Anticipated release: July 15, 2021 by Alchemy

A deadly contest. A vaulting ambition. How far will one cyren go to win?

Mighty cyrens have ruled the ancient lair of Saddoriel for centuries. A cavernous fortress, a subterranean labyrinth of tunnels and levels, powered by magic and music…

From the moment she was born, Roh, the daughter of an infamous criminal, has been despised by her own kind. Restricted to the Lower Sector and forced to work as a common bone cleaner, she has always believed she belongs above: where lies adventure… and power.

Opportunity arises in the form of the Queen’s Tournament, a treacherous set of trials that could see the victor crowned ruler of the entire lair. Up against the most cunning, dangerous cyrens in all the realms, does Roh stand a chance?

A Lair of Bones is the first gripping book in the dark fantasy quartet, Curse of the Cyren Queen.

Goodreads

Why am I waiting on it?

I am a sucker for books featuring contests or competitions. Not to mention the three books that this is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, To Kill a Kingdom and Winner’s Curse, all of which I loved! I love Helen’s writing style, so I can’t wait to dive into this dark fantasy! I’m sharing an excerpt if you are interested in reading a sneak peek of the book.

 

Far below the darkest waters, in a cell made of bones, a creature was born. She was the only one of her kind to have entered the realm in such a way: on the cold, bloody stones of Saddoriel’s Prison. In the waning torchlight, her mother, the prisoner, closed her lilac eyes. Bracing herself against the raw beat of lingering pain, she already sensed the deathsong that hummed within her daughter, as strong as the ancestors before her. It was the quiet promise of poignant keys and mesmerising notes: magic, ready to be honed into one of the most
powerful weapons known to the realms above, belonging to a cyren of the vast and ancient deep.

The prisoner gazed down at the small being in the crook of her elbow. In all her centuries of existence, she had never seen a newborn up close before, and this one was hers. She peered at the tiny, pink face in wonder. Without the glimmer of scales at her temples, or the dark fingernails that turned to talons, the infant could have been human. The prisoner unsheathed her own talons, studying the jagged and torn points – a consequence of the manic etchings in the rocky walls around her: drawings, rhymes and snippets of songs long
lost. Once, there had been scores that marked the passing days, too, but as decades turned to centuries, time became but one endless darkness.

The gleam of blood on the stone beneath her caught her attention. Ribbons of crimson flowed freely from her still, forming narrow rivers in the cracks of the prison floor, slipping beneath the bars of bone that held her captive. She followed their course, until they reached a pair of familiar boots. Opposite her cell were bodies, standing preserved in all their former glory but for a blue tinge to their skin: the water warlocks. Their vacant
stares had kept her company for quite some time now. Her gaze fell to the man in the middle, positioned for her best viewing. His name tasted hauntingly familiar on her lips, but she did not speak it; she had promised herself long ago that she had said it aloud for the last time. More often than not, as the years blurred and the torches became faint embers, she saw his ice-green eyes blink at her through the darkness, or his grip on the quartz dagger shift just a little. But it was only a trick of the light, or of the mind…

What are you waiting on? 
Let me know in the comments below 🙂

Michelle @ Book Briefs

One Response to “{WoW+Excerpt} A Lair of Bones by Helen Scheuerer @HelenScheuerer”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.