{Review+Giveaway} The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis

March 13, 2020 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 14 ★★★★½

{Review+Giveaway} The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis

{Review+Giveaway} The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn DavisThe Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis
Pages: 506
Published by Amazon Digital Services LLC on March 9, 2020
Series: The Raven and the Dove #1
Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy & Magic
Source: Paperback from Author
four-half-stars

Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo!

A princess longing to be free...

On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts wander to the open sky waiting at the edge of her floating kingdom. One final adventure calls. Upon fleeing the palace, the last thing she expects to find is a raven prince locked in a death match with a dragon.

A bastard aching to belong...

Reviled son of a dead king, Rafe would do anything for his beloved half-brother, Prince Lysander Taetanus, including posing as him in the upcoming courtship trials. When a dragon interrupts their secret exchange, he orders his studious sibling to run. After suffering a fatal blow, Rafe is saved by a beautiful dove who possesses forbidden magic, just like him.

Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart...

Unknown to the world above, on the foggy sea ten thousand feet below, a young king fights a forgotten war. He believes Lyana is the queen prophesied to save the world, and with the help of his favored spy, hidden deep in the highest ranks of the dove royal house, he will stop at nothing to have her.

Three shocking betrayals. Two star-crossed lovers. One unforgettable journey. If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you'll never see coming, don't miss The Raven and the Dove!

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review My Thoughts

The Raven and the Dove is the first book in the epic fantasy romance series of the same name by author Kaitlyn Davis. I have read a few of Kaitlyn’s books, and I have to say this is my favorite book of hers yet! I absolutely LOVED The Raven and the Dove. I need to go grab the prequel book, The Princess and the Pawn, ASAP, and I am eagerly awaiting book two- The Hunter and the Mage, which is currently slated for a September 2020 release! I love this series so much. I was hooked from the tagline description of “Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo!” Umm…YES PLEASE! And The Raven and the Dove delivered on all that and more. This is the perfect book for fans of fantasy romances.

The Raven and the Dove is told in multiple perspectives, including Lyana/ Ana, who is the dove princess of the House of Peace. Her best friend Cassi, an Owl who lives with Lyanna on the island of the house of Peace. And  Xander and Rafe, both Ravens from the House of Whispers. I love a multi perspective fantasy novel, and what is even better is that I love the characters just as much as I love the world set up in The Raven and the Dove. Kaitlyn Davis always writes great romance, but this novel of hers really captured my attention and my heart. I was hooked from page one and I just kept devouring this book until…next thing I knew It was the middle of the night and I was done with all 500 plus pages. This book is something special, and I cannot wait for the next installment of this series.

The world in The Raven and the Dove is so cool! It is made up of the land below, which is ruled by a fire god with his dragons, and then the islands above, which are all bird kingdoms. Highest up is the ruling House of Peace with the Doves. This is where our main character Princess Lyanna and her brother  the Prince of the house of Doves. There are also several other island kingdoms, each featuring a different type of bird and a different trait or characteristic.  The world was beyond cool, and I am so happy that there are going to be at least 4 books in this series! The plot was also right up my alley. Once a year the kingdom’s host courtship trials, where each kingdom sends their prince and princesses that are of age, to compete in a trial to be matched with their mate from another island. There are secrets and twists galore in the book. I don’t really want to get into them because going in fairly blind was part of the fun for me with this novel, but just know The Raven and the Dove has it all. Romance (including a love triangle), intrigue, betrayals, secrets, and one heck of a cliffhanger. This is one of the best fantasy books I have read so far in 2020, and I itching to get my hands on the next book. The Raven and the Dove is a must read for fans of fantasy romances.

blue4.5
Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a $15 amazon gift card (open INT)

Be sure to check out my instagram for a SECOND GIVEAWAY!

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

You can check out the rest of the stops on the blog tour HERE

About Kaitlyn Davis

Kaitlyn Davis is the bestselling author of the Midnight Fire series, a young adult paranormal romance, and the A Dance of Dragons series, a young adult epic fantasy.

Kaitlyn graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a puppy of her own.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2020 New Release Challenge
  • 2020 Reading Assignment Challenge
  • 2020 Retellings Reading Challenge
  • Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2020

14 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis”

  1. Juana Esparza

    I liked both the book description, and the gorgeous book cover. My favorite book genre is paranormal romance.

  2. Denise Duvall

    This would be a very interesting read, because I have an antique leather copy of Tristan and Isolde, with which to compare stories.

  3. Debra Branigan

    I like the cover and this one sounds like a good read for YA readers of this genre. I think I would like it too, and it is in my TBR. Best wishes to the author on the new release.

  4. Autumn

    I’ve really been in the mood for a good romance, so sign me up for this book!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.