{ARC Review+Giveaway of #TaherehMafi ‘s favorite things} #Furthermore by @Tahereh Mafi

August 23, 2016 Giveaways, Reviews 25 ★★★★★

{ARC Review+Giveaway of #TaherehMafi ‘s favorite things} #Furthermore by @Tahereh MafiFurthermore by Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 416
Published by Dutton Books for Young Readers on August 30, 2016
Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy & Magic, Action & Adventure
Source: Paperback ARC from Publisher
five-stars

The bestselling author of the Shatter Me series takes readers beyond the limits of their imagination in this captivating new middle grade adventure where color is currency, adventure is inevitable, and friendship is found in the most unexpected places.

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn't miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it's been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she's about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she'll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit--and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice's wits (and every limb she's got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself--and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider

I loved Furthermore, and you will see why in my review below, but today’s post is a little something different. Because Furthermore takes place in Ferenwood, a town where color kind of takes on a life of it’s own, I decided to share some of my more colorful #bookstagram pictures with you. My feed has been very colorful lately (which is a big change from my normal wardrobe…)

So, check out some brightly colored book pretties, check out my review and then be sure to enter the awesome giveaway below, which I partnered with Penguin Random House to offer. You can win a copy of Furthermore and some of Tahereh’s favorite things!

 

These are just a sampling of my pictures, be sure to check out my instagram for lots more bookish pictures and giveaways. (You can visit my instagram here @BookBriefs)

And speaking of giveaways, If you just can’t wait to get your hands on a copy of Furthermore, or you want to increase your chances of winning, in addition to the giveaway below (sponsored by Penguin), I am giving away another copy of Furthermore on my instagram account. So Click HERE to enter or click on the picture below for another chance to win Furthermore (this giveaway is sponsored by BookBriefs and Book Briefs Contest Policy does apply)

 

I loved #furthermore by #taherehmafi so much that I decided to host a SECOND giveaway of the book. (If you want to enter the first giveaway, which includes a really cool prize pack of tahereh’s favorite things, check out my blog (link in bio) to enter that one) . . But for my Instagram followers I decided to do a special giveaway! ok let’s get to it. .. . . . The Prize: One (1) winner will get an ARC -advanced readers edition ofFurthermore . . . The official rules: To enter, 1) follow me @BookBriefs 2) like this post 3) tag a friend you think would enjoy Furthermore (or three friends for three entries…etc) 4) please only enter if you have an intention of leaving a review (on any of the following outlets: social media, goodreads, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, blog/website.) . . . Optional entries: Repost this giveaway with the hash tag #furthermoregiveaway and tag @Bookbriefs . . . . Open to US only. Must be 18 to enter. Contest ends September 16, 2016 at 12:01 am EST . No purchase necessary. Void where prohibited by law. For full terms of this giveaway please visit my contest policy. (Link in bio) . . . This promotion is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by, or associated with, Instagram. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. For full disclosures and more information please see Book Briefs disclosure policy. . . . . #bookstagrammer #igreads #book #books #bookishphotography #bookshimmy #bookdragon #bookworm #bookgiveaway #giveaway #bookish #bookstagramfeature #bookishfeature #booklion #bookworm #booknerd #booknerdigans #bookworms #bookaddict #booklover #bookstagrammer #bookblogger #bookaholic #bookcover

A photo posted by @bookbriefs on

My Thoughts

Furthermore is a middle grade fantasy novel by Taherah Mafi. Even though this book is technically middle grade, I think it will appeal to fans of young adult books. It is a very detailed and long novel and felt like upper middle grade/lower young adult to me. Furthermore is a delightful book. It is the story of 12 year old, and later a little bit older, Alice, who was born without any color in a land where colors almost seem to take on a life of their own. Ferenwood is a really cool town, that reminded me of wonderland. Fans of Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz and other childhood fantasy tales will really enjoy the town of Ferenwood and Furthermore.

Alice is such a great character. I loved going on this adventure with her. Her father disappeared a few years before our tale starts and once she turns 12 she ventures out to find him. At the start of the story, you can see that Alice and her mother have a rocky relationship. I wouldn’t go as far to say that her very real mother is like an evil step-mother, but things are strained between the two of them. After Alice runs away from home she meets all kinds of whimsical and fantastical creatures and characters. I want to see Furthermore brought to life on the big screen because I feel like it would be perfect in the style of Tim Burton and the new Alice in Wonderland (with Johnny Depp). I read this book in one very long afternoon turned late night because I couldn’t put it down. Tahereh Mafi is a master story teller. I love her young adult Shatter Me series, and seeing her hand at middle grade was insta love for me. Fans of Whimsical writing will become enchanted with Furthermore.

I can’t get over how beautifully done this book is. From the absolutely perfect cover, to the magnificent writing, the pictures that Tahereh Mafi is able to paint with her words are downright magical. I know what Ferenwood looks like, and if they have a movie they better pay as much attention to the details and descriptions of scenes as Tahereh does because she lays it all out in such a perfectly described and richly detailed way. As far as descriptive writing goes, she is one of my all time favorite authors. She is so talented it is scary.

I am crossing all of my fingers and toes that there is going to be another book in Ferenwood. The end of the story (and no this is not a spoiler) says “until next time dear reader” but on the very next page it says The End. So I am not totally sure what comes next, but I know one thing. I am pounding my fists on the table demanding more Alice, Oliver and everyone else! Get ready to go on a magical adventure with Furthermore. This is a book you do not want to miss.

blue5 . @BookBriefs is giving away #Furthermore thanks to @PenguinTeen and #TaherehMafi! Visit here to enter Click To Tweet

LEARN MORE

Visit PenguinTeen.com

Read an excerpt of the first few chapters here!

Follow Tahereh on Twitter and Instagram

Follow PenguinTeen on Twitter and Instagram

#Furthermore #TaherehMafi


Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win some of Tahereh’s Favorite Things!

Untitled

url

Four different prize packs including various items picked out special by Tahereh will be offered in giveaways across the Blogosphere. Collect them all!

 Tahereh’s Favorite Things: Prize Pack #2

One (1) winner will receive:
-a copy of Furthermore
an Egg Cream Mask
an Advanced Brightening Sleeping Facial

 Giveaway open to US addresses only.

Prizing and samples provided by Penguin Random House.

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And remember if you want another chance to win a copy of this awesome book, you can enter at my instagram HERE

CLICK HERE TO ENTER

About Tahereh Mafi

Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Shatter Me series. She can usually be found over-caffeinated and stuck in a book. You can find her online just about anywhere at @TaherehMafi or on her website, www.taherehbooks.com.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

25 Responses to “{ARC Review+Giveaway of #TaherehMafi ‘s favorite things} #Furthermore by @Tahereh Mafi”

  1. Sara Stevens

    Thank you for the giveaways! Reading for me is my getaway. Once the kids are sleeping and my house chores done. I get to escape into a book!

  2. Vivien

    A world without reading would be horrible!!! I would have too much free time to do unnecessary useless things!! lol

  3. kmbacaffeinate

    Love your review Michelle. I have this one, but my oldest stole..I mean borrowed it..lol I have never read a Middle grade book for pleasure but intend to try this!

  4. danielle hammelef

    Reading is my favorite way of relaxing and I read every day before bedtime to unwind from the day. This book sounds amazing!

  5. Tammy V

    My girls are grown up so with a lot of me time reading is something I love to do that doesn’t cost money (typically) and I can do anywhere at any time.

  6. Beth Ann Tilley

    Reading is my #1 hobby. It is life, escapism, learning, dreaming, traveling and so much more.

  7. Veronica Vasquez

    Reading means relaxing and enjoying a world outside of my own, somewhere where there are endless possibilities. Life without reading would be just awful for an avid reader like me

  8. Laura Thomas

    I can’t get past that fabulous cover. LOL The synopsis is intriguing too. And many friends are urging me, no, demanding that I read it.

  9. Penny Olson

    A world without reading wouldn’t be much of a world at all. Thanks for the giveaway!

  10. Cynthia Powers

    A world without reading would be horrible! How else am I to relax, find new worlds to escape to, and exercise my imagination?

  11. Julie

    Reading means escaping to another world for an afternoon. It’s such a fun way to consume stories.

  12. Patrycja

    Reading is a way of relaxing, escaping, it is a pleasure and hobby for me. I was though from young age that books are your friends and to this day I treat them as such. Reading is my life.

  13. Sam

    I agree with so many things you said in your review. I did not think I would like this, because I do not normally read middle grades, but there was something that just pulled me in. I was won over by the fun and whimsy, but this book also had a great emotional depth.

  14. Nedra W

    I cannot imagine a world without books. I’ve been an avid reader since childhood and never go even a day without reading even if it’s only for a short time. Books are food for the soul.

Leave a Reply