{Review+Giveaway} Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods @woodswrite @randomhousekids

May 12, 2016 Blog Tours, Giveaways, Reviews, Young Adult 7 ★★★★

{Review+Giveaway} Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods @woodswrite @randomhousekids

{Review+Giveaway} Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods @woodswrite @randomhousekidsSummer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods
Pages: 352
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on May 10th 2016
Genres: Young Adult, contemporary, Romance
Source: Paperback ARC from Publisher
four-stars

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.  

When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.

  But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider

YA ReviewMy ThoughtsSummer of Supernovas is a young adult contemporary romance by Darcy Woods. This is the first book I have read from this author and I have to say it met all of my expectations. (Side note: umm, I just found out that I have not read any books by Darcy because this is her Debut book! Color me shocked. This book felt like a book from a seasoned writer. Now I am even more impressed.) I had such high, high hopes for the book after I read the summary. I love astronomy, and I found it even more fascinating to see such hardcore scientists also be so wrapped up in astrology (another thing I find to be super fun, particularly in books and movies) so I couldn’t wait to see the intersection of the two studies. And it didn’t let me down at all. Summer of Supernovas is a very fun read, that satisfied my light and fluffy craving for the day.

Wil is the kind of main character that I instantly fall in love with in young adult books. She is smart, and just a little nerdy. Sweet and an overall cool chick. She has this scientist father and a mother that warned her to stay away from guys of certain astrological signs, and right from that moment I knew this book and I were going to click. The whole thing felt very rom com-esque. Totally, right up my alley.

And Wil isn’t the only great character in Summer of Supernovas. In fact, everyone in this book was really excellent in their own way. It was a little odd (but in a good way) that there wasn’t anyone that I didn’t like. And what I liked most of all, was that all of the characters were freakin’ different! They had different personalities and different interests and each and every one of them felt real. I know that sounds like a given, but it so, so isn’t in a lot of books. I give Darcy huge props for writing really great characters.

There was only one thing that I really could have done with out, and unfortunately it is a spoiler, so click here if you want to see what made my jaw tick in annoyance. View Spoiler » It only bothered me, because it just didn’t seem necessary to me. But either way, it all worked out in the end. And the story was just as cute, fun and nerdy as I was hoping it would be.

Bottom line: Summer of Supernovas is a perfect beach read. It is a light and fluffy books that fans of romantic comedies should grab when they are looking for something fun to put a smile on their face. And get ready to really connect with the characters. They will become your friends.

blue4 See why @BookBriefs thinks Summer of Supernovas by @woodswrite is the perfect beach read @randomhousekids Click To Tweet
Giveaway

To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win 1 of 3 copies of Summer of Supernovas (US only)

Note: Book Briefs Contest Policy applies.  All of the prizes, terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below. No Purchase necessary to enter. Void where prohibited by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Darcy Woods

Young adult author Darcy Woods had three big loves in grade school: Reading, writing, and pizza day. Some things never change. She lives in Michigan with her madly supportive husband, two tuxedo cats (who overdress for everything) and a closet full of neatly organized shoes. Once upon a time, she served in a US Army aviation unit and threw live grenades. Now she throws words.

Darcy’s Golden Heart®-winning debut YA romance, SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS, comes out from Random House/Crown May 10, 2016.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

7 Responses to “{Review+Giveaway} Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods @woodswrite @randomhousekids”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.