Month: April 2016

Apr 22
{Review+Giveaway} Crazy Stupid Fauxmance by @shelleeroberts @EntangledTeen

{Review+Giveaway} Crazy Stupid Fauxmance by @shelleeroberts @EntangledTeen

Crazy Stupid Fauxmance is the third book in the Creative HeArts series, and the first book in the Mariely and Cabot trilogy by Shelleeroberts. I have still not read the first book in the series, which is the first book in the Sloane and Tru series, but I have read book 2- How Willa Got Her Groove Back, which was the first book in the Willa and Finn trilogy and I have to say, I freakin love the way this series is done. Let me try and break it down for you, because it can be kind of confusing. The Creative HeArts series is all set at the same performing arts high school in Texas. There will be 9 books in the series, and it will center around 3 different couples. Each of the couples will get their own trilogy, and each trilogy is written by a different author. But the books in the overall Creative HeArts series will rotate through each one of the three couples, so no two… Read more »

Divider

Apr 22
{Review+Giveaway} The Player and the Pixie by @LHCosway & Penny Reid @ReidRomance

{Review+Giveaway} The Player and the Pixie by @LHCosway & Penny Reid @ReidRomance

The Player and the Pixie is the second book in the Rugby by author duo L.H. Cosway & Penny Reid. I am so excited that I read this book. Yes, I loved the first book in the series, but even more so this is my first 5 star book in a while. I have been on a 3.5 star reading kick for about a month now it feels like. It isn’t what I would call a reading slump by any means, because I have actually been reading a ton lately, and I have been enjoying the books, but I just haven’t really been crazy in love, over the top excited about a book for what feels like a while (but in reality might only be a couple of weeks AKA about 20 books ago.) The Player and The Pixie changed all of that! I freakin’ loved this book. We are talking top books of 2016, loved! I liked it more than the first book in the series, which was also… Read more »

Divider

Apr 21
{Review+Giveaway} Pieces of You and Me by Erin Fletcher @ErinFletcher11

{Review+Giveaway} Pieces of You and Me by Erin Fletcher @ErinFletcher11

Pieces of You and Me is a young adult contemporary romance by Erin Fletcher. I am just going to say it. I don’t think I will ever get enough of cute feel good romances. They are just my thing. They make me happy. And Pieces of You and Me is just that, a cute feel good romance. This is a quick read. One I finished in half an evening, and it put me in a better mood than when I started reading it. Which is the goal. This is my first book that I have read by Erin Fletcher but I know it won’t be my last. Pieces of You and Me is told in dual narrative between Rylee and Chase. I loved Rylee and I really liked who Chase was as a person, but I just don’t love the whole truancy bad boy thing. And I really didn’t love the way he seemed to be rubbing off on Rylee at the start of the story. But putting that aside,… Read more »

Divider

Apr 21
{Review+Giveaway} The Blood of the Hydra by @MichelleMadow @Barclay_PR

{Review+Giveaway} The Blood of the Hydra by @MichelleMadow @Barclay_PR

**Note: This is the second book in the series and may contain spoilers for Book 1. If you are new to the series, you can find out more information about the first book- The Prophecy of Shadows HERE** The Blood of the Hydra  is the second book in the young adult fantasy series by Michelle Madow, called Elementals. I love a mythology book and this series is extra interesting because it combines elemental magic, typically reserved for witches, along with mythology gods and demigods. I enjoyed the first book, but the second installment is so much better than the first book in my opinion. I loved The Blood of the Hydra. I liked all of the characters more, yes even Blake, and the quest in this installment was so great. One of my issues, though minor, with book one was that I was not into Blake and his romance with Nicole. At all. And I am still not 100% sure that I am on board with them, it didn’t bug… Read more »

Divider

Apr 20
{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

{Review+Giveaway} Anomalies by @sadieturnerla & @colettefreedman

Anomalies is the first book in the young adult dystopian/ Sci fi series by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman. While it felt like a lot of other dystopians to me, I ended up enjoying Anomalies because it was a good story. I think it would be perfect for fans of Divergent and Matched. (other people have also been comparing it to Delirium, but I haven’t read that series yet- I know! Shame on me!- so I can’t speak to that.)I love the concept and cover of Anomalies. I think it is perfectly fitting for the story. Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman created a solid world that I want to travel back to for the next installment. I enjoyed this book a lot. Dystopians are such a hit or miss for me. The idea of them sounds awesome, and the summary of Anomalies sounds like such a freakin’ cool story, and it was, but my issue is not an issue with the writing or with this book in general, it is a bigger issue… Read more »

Divider

Apr 19
Would You be Interested in Buying Books?

Would You be Interested in Buying Books?

I have a question for you guys I am thoroughly cleaning off my bookshelves, and I have a TON of very new hardcovers, paperbacks and mass paperbacks . I also have some older books(including some very large series that have been beloved from my childhood like Sabrina the teenage witch, full house, nancy drew, etc.) Most of the books are young adult, but some of them are adult, middle grade, and romance. I have a huge range of genres. My question is, if I put together a post, would anyone be interested in buying the books? It will likely take a very long time to put a post together because I would want to include goodreads links and pictures for each and every one of books, so I only want to put a post together, if people are genuinely interested. I am currently thinking of a price breakdown as follows: *any of the prices may change* Newer hardcovers: $4 Older Hardcovers $3 Newer paperbacks $2 Older paperbacks/mass market paperbacks $1… Read more »

Divider

Apr 19
{Review} Saving Maverick by @Debra_Elise #BloomsburySpark

{Review} Saving Maverick by @Debra_Elise #BloomsburySpark

Saving Maverick is the first book in the new adult Outlaws of baseball series by Debra Elise. I love the bloomsbury spark line, but for some reason I was under the impression that it was for more young adult line of books, but this was most certainly a new adult romance. I am really excited that the spark line is branching out into (or maybe has always done) new adult romances as well. Saving Maverick is a really yummy first book in the Outlaws of baseball series. It is a fluffy romances with depth. And I can’t wait to read some more of the players stories. I already have a feeling as to another pairing, and if I am right, it is going to be a great one! Saving Maverick is told in dual narrative between Maverick and Kelsey. I really liked both Kelsey and Mav. I love a guy that knows exactly what he wants and goes after it relentlessly. I admired the heck out of Mav for just… Read more »

Divider

Apr 19
{Excerpt+Giveaway} Possessed by a Dark Warrior by @FelicityHeaton

{Excerpt+Giveaway} Possessed by a Dark Warrior by @FelicityHeaton

  Possessed by a Dark Warrior, the ninth book in New York Times best-seller Felicity Heaton’s hot paranormal romance series, Eternal Mates, is now available in ebook and paperback. To celebrate the release of Bleu and Taryn’s long romance novel, she’s holding a FANTASTIC GIVEAWAY and sharing sneak peeks of the book. Enter the Possessed by a Dark Warrior international giveaway (ends April 24th) and be in with a shot of winning a $75, $50 or $25 gift certificate by using the Rafflecopter form at the end of this post or at her website, where you can also download a 4 chapter sample of the novel: http://www.felicityheaton.co.uk/possessed-by-a-dark-warrior-paranormal-romance-novel.php Here’s more about Possessed by a Dark Warrior, including an excerpt from this paranormal romance novel. A powerful warrior and commander of the dark elf legions, Bleu is a loyal and devoted male, and one who has never failed in anything—except one thing. Love. When an elusive female dragon shifter surfaces in Hell again, giving him a mission to hurl himself into, he… Read more »

Divider

Apr 18
{Review} Improbables by Johnathan Charles Bruce @JonathanCBruce @Booktrope

{Review} Improbables by Johnathan Charles Bruce @JonathanCBruce @Booktrope

Improbables is a paranormal romance by Johnathan Charles Bruce. I am not sure which age group this book is being marketed as, but in my opinion it is likely a new adult book. The main character has just graduated college and is looking for her first job. I really enjoyed Improbables and the writing is engaging and excellent. The author loves to take jobs at pop culture, politics, the media, tropes in paranormal fiction that have been sensationalized, you name it. And while, I loved his writing style and I absolutely love the dialogue between the characters (in fact the conversational style was my favorite part of the story. There was wittiness galore. Big thumbs up there!), I did feel my hackles rising a bit with some of the more political jabs and the overt pushing of different women’s issues/agenda throughout. It is just not my thing. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good political book, and I love to read scholarly, and not so scholarly, work on all… Read more »

Divider

Apr 15
{Giveaway} Showers of Books #Giveaway Hop

{Giveaway} Showers of Books #Giveaway Hop

Welcome to my stop on the Showers of Books Giveaway Hop! I have so, so many awesome giveaways going on right now, so if you haven’t been by the blog in a few weeks, take some time and enter the giveaways. (which can be found on the right sidebar, or by clicking HERE) For this giveaway, I have decided to make it super easy. It will be INTERNATIONAL and the winner will get A BOOK OF THEIR CHOICE The fine print: If you would like a physical book, it will be ordered from The Book Depository. The book must be under $10 US and you must live in a county that The Book Depository ships to. (List of countries here) If you would like an ebook, it will be ordered from Amazon. The book must be under $10 US and you must be able to accept an amazon ebook. To enter, fill out the rafflecopter below to win a book of your choice (up to $10) Open internationally. The fine… Read more »

Divider