{ARC Review} Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin @zeitlingeist @PutnamBooks

April 13, 2015 Reviews, Young Adult 12 ★★★★

{ARC Review} Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin @zeitlingeist @PutnamBooksSophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin
Pages: 336
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on April 21, 2015
Genres: contemporary, Europe, Fiction, Greek & Roman, Holiday, Humor, Love & Romance, Young Adult
Source: eARC from Publisher
four-stars

A laugh-out-loud high school adventure set in Greece, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot 

High school sophomore Zona Lowell has lived in New York City her whole life, and plans to follow in the footsteps of her renowned-journalist father. But when he announces they’re moving to Athens for six months so he can work on an important new story, she's devastated— he must have an ulterior motive. See, when Zona's mother married an American, her huge Greek family cut off contact. But Zona never knew her mom, and now she’s supposed to uproot her entire life and meet possibly hostile relatives on their turf? Thanks... but no thanks.

In the vein of Anna and the French Kiss, Zona navigates a series of hilarious escapades, eye-opening revelations, and unexpected reunions in a foreign country—all while documenting the trip through one-of-a-kind commentary.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
YA Review

My ThoughtsSophomore Year is Greek to Me is a standalone contemporary romance that will have you smiling and laughing non-stop. It is a followup book to Meredith Zeitlin’s Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters, but it is about an entirely different group of characters so I truly mean this when I say, you can read this book without having read the first book. They are not related other than the school is the same (I think). Sophomore Year is Greek to Me is such a fun read. I don’t really have any criticisms of it so I am instead going to tell you a couple of things that I loved about the book.

1. I loved that Zona, a journalist-to-be,  and her father, a Pulitzer prize winning writer, would communicate via post it notes in the form of newspaper headlines. They cracked me up! Even the totally snarky ones. I mean Zona is a 15 year old that was not too happy to be leaving her friends and school and whole life to be uprooted to spend 10th grade in Greece with her Dad. But the post-it notes are great. I loved the relationship between Zona and her dad.

2. I loved Zona herself. The book is told from her point of view and also through a series of hilarious article style excerpts of her life. She was writing about her life as if a newspaper was covering certain scenes and events from it, and they completely cracked me up. Zona is a very witty young lady!

3. I loved how adorable typical Zona was with her new crush. She is sometimes overly dramatic, sometimes too sarcastic, and all the time a 100% typical teenager. I have seen her reactions to waiting for a text a million times in my friends growing up and my campers at camp, and just about everywhere. I loved how relate able her story was. I don’t mean typical in a bad way, I think Meredith Zeitlin did a fantastic job capturing the genuine essence of teens.

4. I loved the sweet and innocent romance that bloomed between Zona and the guy that I shall not name. (no spoilers here). And I also love that it didn’t take over the story. Zona meeting her long lost family and her time spent in Greece was still the main focus. And speaking of family.

5. I loved the family message in Sophomore Year is Greek to Me. I thought it was really nice the way the family aspect of the story played out. And now one more thing for good measure.

6. I loved Zona’s friendships with her New York friends. It is always so nice to see a supportive group of genuine friends. I loved their skype convos, and I really liked that they we always there for each other. It wasn’t a one sided friendship.

Sophomore Year is Greek to Me is a fun adventure abroad. Zona is hilarious and I think teens (and not teens alike) will find her endearing and cute and will see a little bit of themselves in her. I loved learning about all aspects of her life. And her journey with friendships, and love and family was a great time. Read this book!

 

blue4
Have you entered these awesome Giveaways?

Click the banner to enter

Raining-Books-Giveaway-HopBook Briefs captive

About Meredith Zeitlin

Meredith Zeitlin has written two books for young people (so far) and lots of articles for Ladygunn Magazine. She is also a voiceover artist who can be heard on commercials, cartoons, and TV shows (if you want to know more about that, go here: www.mzspeaks.com).

She lives with two adorable feline roommates in Brooklyn, NY, and loves talking about herself in the third person. All of which, you have to admit, is pretty rad.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

12 Responses to “{ARC Review} Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin @zeitlingeist @PutnamBooks”

  1. Megan McDade

    I am currently reading this and I am not sure what I think. I can usually get into your YA protagonist but I just can’t I’m this. I am glad you enjoyed it though 🙂

  2. Jaime Lester

    This sounds TOO stinkin cute, and I am going right now to check out Freshman Year and Other Unnatural Disasters! Thank you for this review!!

Leave a Reply