{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooks

January 30, 2015 New Adult, Reviews 4 ★★★★

{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooks

{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooksThree Brothers by Nicole Williams
Pages: 300
Published by Createspace Independent Pub on January 20, 2015
Genres: contemporary, Fiction, Romance
Source: eARC from Author
four-stars

I grew up with three brothers. They weren’t tied to me by blood, but our connection went beyond genetics or bearing the same last name. Our connection was forged the summer I turned thirteen, the summer my mom ended her life and left me in the custody of John Armstrong, a man I’d never met. Packing all I owned in a couple of boxes, I left the familiarity of the big city and headed west to Red Mountain Ranch, set in a lonely valley outside of Jackson Hole.

Nothing was as it seemed at Red Mountain—it didn’t take long for me to figure that out. John was kind to me but distant, as if he was afraid to let anyone get too close. His three teenage sons had their own devices for keeping love as far away as they could. The eldest distracted himself with cheap relationships that had a shelf-life of one night. The middle son threw himself into the rigor of running a ranch, and the third wielded cruelty and mind-games in his quest to keep people from getting close.

Time has gone by, and I’ve spent those years trying to forget the brother I’d fallen for—the biggest mistake of my life.

Finally, I’ve moved on. Finally, I’m back. But what I didn’t realize was that running away from the wrong brother meant I’d also run away from the right one. The one who’d been there for me all along, waiting in his brother’s shadow for the day I either would or could move on.

But a decade is a long time to wait. Has the brother I should have chosen all of those years ago moved on too? Am I about to discover that my biggest mistake wasn’t falling in love with the wrong brother, but failing to return the love of the right one sooner?

Does unrequited love have an expiration date?

I’m about to find out.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider
NA ReviewMy Thoughts

Author’s Note: This book is a “sweet” romance that isn’t overly sexy. Fans of LOST & FOUND will be interested in THREE BROTHERS.

Three Brothers is the first Nicole Williams book that I have had the pleasure of reading, and I think I need a day or two to recover from it. Holy cow, this book touched me deep down to my core, it was so emotional. I need to scour my kindle and see if I have any of her other books, because I don’t know why it has taken me this long to discover hew haunting and powerful writing style. I know it says it right in the summary, but this book is much more on the sweet romance side of new adult, and because of the other books in genre, it will seem much more tame and even a little slower paced than other New Adult books. But trust me, that works with the story perfectly.

The story follows Scout, who left home to attend Vet school, and has to come back because the man who raised her, and his own three sons, is dying. Right then and there, you know a couple of things. 1) this book is going to tug on your heartstrings, and it is going to be sad, and 2) with all of those sons, there is going to be a love triangle at some level. (possibly even a love rectangle. You will have to read to find out 😉 ) You have been warned.

The brothers- Conn, Chance, and Chase. The summary is purposefully vague as to which brother is which, and no names are used so I am not going to spoil any more of the story than the summary did for you. So in regards to the brothers, one is the biggest sweetheart you will ever see. I just wanted to hug him the whole time I was reading the story. Another brother was Scout’s best friend. He held a special place in my heart too, and the last brother was such a tortured soul. Even when he rubbed me the wrong way, I couldn’t help but feel for him.

Three Brothers is a book that will stand out to you as something fresh, emotional and very moving in the new adult genre. Family, friendship, letting go of the past and moving forward are all themes that Nicole Williams explores beautifully in this standalone novel.
blue4


About the Author

I’m the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of the CRASH series (HarperTeen, S&S UK), LOST & FOUND series, UP IN FLAMES (S&S UK), The EDEN TRILOGY, and a handful of others. I write stories about everyday kinds of people who find themselves in extraordinary kinds of situations. I tell love stories with happy endings because I believe in making the world a better place, and that’s one tiny way I can make it so. I’m one of those people who still believe in true love and soul mates, and would rather keep my head in the clouds any day over having my feet firmly on the ground.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Have you entered these awesome giveaways?
Click on the banners to enter
Capture where dead bodies lie tour banner bridges burned tour banner ward against disaster tour banner Foolproof Tour Banner

Michelle @ Book Briefs

4 Responses to “{Review} Three Brothers by Nicole Williams @nwilliamsbooks”

  1. kindlemom1

    Okay, loving that this brought out the feels in you and really touched you! Yay for authors that are able to accomplish that!

    Lovely review Michelle, I hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply