{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

April 10, 2014 excerpt, Giveaways, Young Adult 12

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to my stop for the EXCERPT TOUR for
The Geography of You and Me
by Jennifer E. Smith

smallgraydots
{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. SmithThe Geography Of You And Me by Jennifer E. Smith
Pages: 416
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers on April 15, 2014
Genres: General, Love & Romance, Young Adult

For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME is a story for anyone who's ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who's searched for home and found it where they least expected it. Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking... The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland they can't shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can't, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy - and pain - of first love. And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.

graydividerAmazon
Goodreadsgraydivider

ExcerptCHAPTER ONE

Excerpt 3

As her eyes adjusted, Lucy could see him frown as he pulled out his earbuds. He glanced in her direction before turning to face the panel of buttons, jabbing at a few with his thumb. When they refused to light up, he finally hit the red emergency one, and they both cocked their heads, waiting for the speaker to crackle to life.

Nothing happened, so he punched it again, then once more. Finally, he lifted his shoulders in a shrug. “It must be the whole building,” he said without turning around.

Lucy lowered her eyes, trying to avoid the little red arrow above the door, which was poised somewhere between the numbers 10 and 11. She was doing her best not to picture the empty elevator shaft below, or the thick cables stretched above them.

“I’m sure they’re already working on it,” she said, though she wasn’t at all sure. She’d been in the elevator when it got stuck before, but never when the lights had gone out, too, and now her legs felt unsteady beneath her, her stomach wound tight. Already, the air seemed too warm and the space too small.

She cleared her throat. “George is just downstairs, so…”

The boy turned to face her, and though it was still too dark for details, she could see him more clearly with each minute that passed. She was reminded of a science experiment her class did in fifth grade, where the teacher dropped a mint into each of the students’ cupped palms, then switched off the lights and told them to bite down hard, and a series of tiny sparks lit up the room. This was how he seemed to her now: his teeth flashing when he spoke, the whites of his eyes bright against the blackness.

Giveaway

Tour-Wide Giveaway

– Hardcover copy of The Geography of You and Me
– ebook copy of The Geography of You and Me
– Open internationally
– April 8 – 22

Note: This Giveaway is not sponsored by Book Briefs. All of the terms and conditions of the giveaway should be contained in the rafflecopter below

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour:

4/8 – Tour Launch

4/9
A Backwards Story
Literary Meanderings

4/10
Book Briefs
A Life Bound By Books

4/11
The Reading Diaries
Books and Bindings

4/13
The Wonderings of One Person
Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf

4/14
I Am A Reader
Bookfever

4/15 – Release Day Grand Finale

About Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is the author of This Is What Happy Looks Like, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Storm Makers, You Are Here, and The Comeback Season. She earned a master’s degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and currently works as an editor in New York City. Her work has been translated into 27 languages, and her next young adult novel, The Geography of You and Me, will be out in Spring 2014.

Michelle @ Book Briefs

12 Responses to “{Excerpt+Giveaway} The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith”

  1. Heidi

    I so wanted to read this one and I didn’t get an ARC. I think that analogy about the mints in the dark and the sparks is adorable!

  2. Texas Book Lover

    My favorite place in the world is at home…specifically my living room!

Leave a Reply